Tag Archives: Mudkids

Naptown Unite! a benefit for WhoisLouis

28 May

#naptown hiphop  will be showing strong for our friend and fellow artist WhoisLouis this friday June 1st.  Jason has been staging a valiant fight against Chordoma.  We have united with Heavy Gun Blog and Bringing Down The Band to put together an amazing night of music to raise money for our friend and raise awareness about this horrible disease.    Please mark your calenders and join us for an evening of  amazing music music for a brilliant artist and good friend.


Rusty Redenbacher’s 100,000th Tweet. Vlog

7 Dec

in short: Rusty says, use your voice, shrug off busters, and buy LAZARUS  tomorrow.


2 Dec

Rusty Redenbacher drops ‘ICARUS’ (an EP of dope rewrites and such) to get you eager for that LAZARUS. Go download ‘ICARUS‘… it’s free.

You can now preorder LAZARUS from iTunes… or just wait with your trigger fingers itchin’ to click the ‘buy‘ icon from your favorite spot.


1 Dec


from Rusty Redenbacher’s Tumblr:

My friends, I didn’t even realize I was gonna do this tonight, but I had all these tracks I have jacked laying about and thought I would compile them into one place for you to enjoy and critique (that’s what we hip-hoppers do, yo. I seent it.)

For those that haven’t really heard me rap, cool. Here’s some relatively easy listening for you, as I have taken some favorites and reworked them for my own devices. For those that are aware of my work, here’s something to thank you for all the support over the years. I really do appreciate all of you. Every day, you all make me wanna try harder and do more, so whether you now it or not, a lotta you inspire me.

I coulda just put all my little joints in a zip and said, “Here…”, but it’s just not my way. ‘Wheelworks 7-9’ ended up taking a good portion of the night to conceptualize and piece together. The whole thing is cut-and-paste, except for the beds, which were mixed live on two turntables. All the vocals samples and stuff were pieced in tonight with Garageband. I didn’t think I would end up doing all that…but I like how it turned out…every time I do one of these little projects I learn a bit more about how to produce on Garageband…and the joint gets more involved. 

Naptown’s gotta lot to say. I am but one voice. There’s a lotta talented MC’s, DJ’s, producers, and musicians in the city I call ‘home’. I’m proud to scream it out and if I have to, give it away to let people know that it’s time for a larger national audience to take notice of what we do here. 

Let me quit preaching so you can see this playlist and get to downloading. 

Just click the cover image or the title below and you should be getting your free download. 


1) Icarus Takes Flight

2) All About The Benjamins (Rusty’s Recession Rewrite)

3) Rusty’s Runaway

4) Building My Future

5) Simon Says (featuring Mr. Kinetik)

6) Swag Surfin’ (featuring Mr. Kinetik)

7) Wheelworks 7-9

8) There (from ‘Lazarus’, full album available online 12/11/10, wherever you buy digital music.)

LAZARUS 12.11.10

25 Nov

follow rusty on tumblr  HERE… and stay tuned for this brilliant album produced by SPStar!

Lazarus …close to the bone

3 Nov

Rusty Redenbacher & SPStar – Lazarus… rising this December

follow Rusty Redenbacher Risin’ on tumblr



1 Nov

“Here’s a bit of what my original plan for ‘Lazarus’ was gonna be.

SPStar and I created this really dope album and I wanted it to translate to a larger group of people. I knew the songs were good enough for that. A band was formed and the task of recreating/reshaping the ALBUM, ‘Lazarus’. The band would have the same name as the album and kinda be like the truest physical representation of the album.

It was a good time while we had it going, but we had to let it go. I’m glad we did get into a studio and got a few demos recorded. I shot this before practice one day; just showed up with the tripod and camera, told the dudes we were doing a video and shot us jamming through ‘Older’ a few times.

A bit of the original album version appears at the end of this video, along with an epilogue.”

-Rusty Redenbacher

‘LAZARUS’ – Rising in December on Audio Recon… Keep your ears peeled.